SCCI seeks relief for Peshawar BRT-hit traders

09 October 2019

PESHAWAR: President Sarhad Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Engr Maqsood Anwar Pervez has slammed the imposition of additional taxes and increase in their ratio and demanded of the provincial government to give relief to traders affected by Peshawar Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) project.

 He, made this demand during meeting with a delegation of Traders Alliance Federation Peshawar Cantt at the chamber house on Wednesday. On the occasion, SCCI Senior Vice President, Shahid Hussain, Vice President Abdul Jalil Jan, the chamber executive committee members, Junaid Altaf and Ghulam Bilal Javed, Irshad Siddique, former vice president Haris Mufti, were present.

 Ghulam Bilal Javed who is also president of the Traders Alliance Federation Peshawar Cantt was led the traders’ delegation. Other members of the delegation include founding president, Chaudhry Shahid Ghafoor, former MPA Arif Yousaf, Haji Naseer, Sanaullah Khan Saraf, Amin Babar, Husnain Sheraz and others.

 Maqsood Anwar said that the business activities have adversely affected since the launch of BRT project in provincial capital due to business community has inflicted huge financial losses. He said the imposition of additional taxes on business community was unjust and unacceptable to them. He assured that they will take the issue of one way road in Peshawar Saddar with relevant authorities effectively.  

 SCCI chief vowed they will extend services without any discrimination and to take practical steps to resolve the issues of business community on priority basis. He said the chamber is the prime forum, which had played important role in resolution of business community.

 He assured that they will not allow anyone to do injustice with traders and urged the government to abstain from harassing shopkeepers and retailers which are the biggest of source of employment.

 Meanwhile, former SCCI executive committee member, Dr Khushal Khan Mohmand, Amin Mohmand, Bakhtiyar Khan and Rafiq also meet with the chamber president, Engr Maqsood Anwar Pervez, Senior Vice President Shahid Khan and Vice President Abdul Jalil Jan and congratulated them for success in the chamber election with huge margin.